Fuck New Years

This year has been fucking nuts. For starters, I achieved my childhood ambition of solo travelling the UK and Europe. I think that alone just makes 2016 one of the best years of my life so far. But it’s also the reason this New Years Eve was the hardest. My childhood dream came true and then it was over. I have been working towards last year since I was like 12, and now it is over. When I realised this I actually teared up. Because my big plans, in the end, didn’t seem so big once it was over. Which was a really hard thing to come to terms with.

Everyone is going on about how 2016 was the worst year ever. Which to be honest is just everyone jumping on a bandwagon anyway. But 2016 was actually pretty decent for me. There were a lot of things that weren’t right, and things that didn’t happen that should have happened. And then there’s the whole thing with my New Years even being a disaster once again. And sure losing David Bowie and Victoria Wood really sucked but hey, I honestly can’t complain. I travelled for three months around the UK and Europe. I’d be a dick if I said 2016 was shit.

I don’t have any New Years resolutions. Because I simply don’t believe in them. Why wait for a new year to change your life? Why not change it when you realise there’s something to change? And what’s more, why is it that it takes the turning of a new year for people to identify the shit in their lives? It’s all just pointless to me. No one keeps their New Years resolutions anyway! New Years has always been one of the toughest parts of the year for me. I don’t need to sit here and say all the stuff I’m going to change. I just need to get through it.

I hope you have enjoyed my little pity party. And I hope you all had a decent 2016 and I wish you all the best for 2017.

Maddy xxx

img_8925

2 thoughts on “Fuck New Years

Leave a Reply

