Tourist In My Own Country

I’ve always had a strong connection to England. My Dad was born here, all his extended family are still here. I’ve always loved English humour, English slang, English history. I even wanted to live here, and maybe one day I will. 

But being away from home makes me realise how much I love Australia. For all my connection to the UK, and for all the places I’d love to live (Germany, Paris, New York City), I feel like I’ll always return home to Australia. The only thing that could keep me away would be if I fell in lovd with someone. Even then I’d probably convince them to come back with me.


The other day I watched The Inbetweeners Movie 2, in which they go to Australia. And tonight I watched The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert. And they both made me want to go home and be a tourist in my own country. 

I’ve seen a bit of Australia outside of my honetown of Melbourne. I spent a week each year for seven years in Noosa on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland. I’d love to go back. I’d love to just travel up the East Coast of Australia.

Gympy Terrace, Noosa, QLD


For a long time I’ve wanted to do the Sydney-Broken Hill-Cooper Pedy-Alice Springs treck from Priscilla. But right now, I’m in the UK, next week I head to Paris. I have so much here to see and do. But one day I’ll return home, and I’ll see my beautiful home country again. 

It’s all too much! 

Maddy x

2 thoughts on “Tourist In My Own Country

Leave a Reply

