Just Another Day

Birthdays don’t ignite any particular feelings of importance for me. My family don’t make huge fusses out of any sort of day unless we feel like it. There’s no “should”s attached with anything like Christmas, or Easter, or birthdays. And it’s sometime’s hard for me to understand the sort of mind-set that places all these rules on what you have to do and what you can’t do on these sorts of days.

Today is my birthday. I like the fact that I’m older, I like the fact that I woke up to a bottle of this liqueur I’ve been wanting for ages, and a cool homemade card from Dad, but ultimately I’m unfazed. We went out for a nice lunch, but only because that’s what I decided to do. If I had said “I’m not doing anything for my birthday”, my parents would not have cared, and we would have done nothing.

Of course, if you want to make a fuss out of your birthday, or someone else’s birthday, or Christmas or any other religious or non-religious holiday, you go right ahead! It can be fun to smother your loved ones with love and gifts, or get together with friends and/or family and get drunk and eat lots of food! I just can’t stand having rules attached to these days. If you want to hang around in your pyjamas eating crap food all day on Christmas, that is totally fine. Don’t let anyone tell you that you have to dress up in something festive and spend time with family. I mean, let’s be honest, not everyone has a family they want to spend time with, Christmas or otherwise.

Overall, I had a nice birthday. Next week I’ll have drinks with my few closest friends to celebrate both my birthday and my departure for London a week after that. But when you have a birthday every single year there’s no need to make a fuss every single time. And this year was one year where a fuss was not made in the slightest, and I liked that.

Happy birthday to me!

Maddy xxx

7 thoughts on “Just Another Day

Leave a Reply

